Beating a Dead Horse

giphy

Blogging. Here at Paradise Creek Regional Highschool this is a thing of much contempt and much debate. Some people, the few and the quiet, love to blog. I think that they feel as though they are finally being heard by broadcasting their opinion to their classmates without actually talking to them. I’m part of the other group of people who don’t love it, we’re the problem. I don’t feel the need to share my thoughts on every little thing and broadcast them to everyone from here to Hanoi. Actually, I don’t mind broadcasting my thoughts and opinions because more often than not I’m right; I just don’t like the fact that people are forced to read it and respond to it. I’m sure some people love having their ego inflated from other people’s comments on the internet, but I’m not that vapid and self-absorbed.

Ever since I read my first part of a blog, some awful piece of garbage a Tumblrina wrote, I’ve always thought of blogs as a way to scream into an echochamber and cry about how you were oppressed (Personally, I was oppressed today, someone didn’t use a trigger warning when they told a joke). Everyone who blogs is a special snowflake, no opinion is wrong (of course your opinion is wrong), debate is accomplished by attacking your opponents character or values (if you don’t think this is true you are an idiot and probably a communist), and I am exposed to other’s flawed opinions and thoughts.

I do understand the reason we blog (100 out of 10 studies show that it improves your writing), but I feel as though I have become so accomplished at writing, thanks to my wonderful English teacher Cyndi, that it is essentially unnecessary. I would much, kind of, barely rather blog and expose people to my thoughts and be exposed to theirs than write essay after essay. Oh well, nothing I can do really. This argument I’ve been making for a year is worn out and useless so I might as well resign myself to an awful life of sharing every unimportant, boring, and incorrect thought with every soul unfortunate enough to have been forced to read my blog.

5 thoughts on “Beating a Dead Horse

  1. Cyndi Faircloth says:

    “Wonderful English Teacher Cyndi” here – and I just wanted to say think you for accepting your fate and agreeing to share the unimportant thoughts that you have. Think of it as another way to prompt discussions – as you like to do during class – if it helps at all!

    Like

  2. addie says:

    “I think that they feel as though they are finally being heard by broadcasting their opinion to their classmates without actually talking to them.”
    clever..very clever

    “I’m sure some people love having their ego inflated from other people’s comments on the internet, but I’m not that vapid and self-absorbed.”
    How can you become better at writing if you don’t receive some form of compliment aside from criticism?

    You aren’t exactly forced to read anyone’s blog, if you don’t want to, just comment random nonsense and you’ll get a grade.

    “I might as well resign myself to an awful life of sharing every unimportant, boring, and incorrect thought with every soul unfortunate enough to have been forced to read my blog.”

    Depends on if other people perceive your thoughts as “boring, unimportant, or incorrect.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lovelydead322 says:

    I feel as though you don’t need to ‘broadcast’ your ideas because you’re always making statements in class. Therefore the need for ‘attention’ or ‘to be heard’ is filled. Just because a person in class is quiet doesn’t mean we like or dislike anything, we just shut up and do what we’re told without much complaint. It’s almost like me saying a person who speaks out in class is ‘more than likely right’ compared to an introvert loving their egos, it’s not always true.

    Like

Leave a Reply

